..::Phone Home::..


Business in the front, party Backstage
July 28, 2009, 5:06 am
Filed under: American, Booze, Full Bar, Grub | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Weeks have passed as I traveled across the pond to Greece, split the Black Sea to Ukraine, and motored through the Bosphorous to Istanbul, but I won’t bore you with tales of my journey 8)

Backstage

Maximum 3====D
Food 3=D
Beer 3==D
Service N/A
Atmosphere 3==D
Eye Candy 3===D

My return to LA also meant my return to homeostasis – bar hopping. Upon arrival I found myself rooted at Backstage Bar in Culver City for some drinks and pub fare. Sort of a “Welcome Back to America” night if you will. What I didn’t know was that it was also Karaoke Night at Backstage. Upon hearing this I almost immediately bolted. Don’t get me wrong, I think singing and dancing is a vital part of social interaction, but I am completely and irreparably tone deaf. Not to mention that the sound of drunkards belting out off-notes to ancient power ballads requires a certain BAL that I had yet to reach. Nonetheless, curious to see why every table in the joint was reserved, I stayed to have some grub and watch the night unfold.

Standard bar items like quesadillas, onion rings, and fries line the menu. Certainly nothing to call home about, but the food is greasy and does a good job of coating your insides for a night of heavy boozing – which of course goes hand-in-hand with karaoke for us Westerners.

After putting down a few Glenmorangies with my steak quesadilla and onion rings, people began filing in and the place quickly filled. Karaoke started somewhere between 5 and 6…drinks. I think it was somewhere around 9:30pm. To my pleasant surprise, there were some patrons that could actually sing and were even enjoyable. The place wasn’t La Cita packed but since I was comfortably perched on my stool at the bar I can’t be certain how hard it was to get a drink. Atmosphere was casual, fun and aptly putting out a “Let’s Get Drunk and Screw” vibe. Overall it was a good time worthy of going back with a group and consuming copious amounts of alcohol; I would go somewhere else beforehand for food.

After I had my fill of the local American Idol contest, I made my way over to Lost & Found around the corner on National

A total 180 from the scene at Backstage, Lost & Found is oddly reminiscent of one of my favorite eastside dives: The Drawing Room. It shares the all qualities of Drawing Room (cheap drinks, darts, and a good juke box) but adds the allure of a pool table and most importantly, fewer hipsters. A bit bigger and apparently less busy on the weekends, L&F is also prime grounds for cougar hunting. Overall, Lost & Found gets my vote of confidence as a go-to dive bar that might just clear the path for an alternate ending to your night.

Backstage

  • Consider eating elsewhere if greasy pub fare isn’t part of the plan
  • Accomodating for large groups, reservations recommended
  • Karaoke Night Thurs, Fri, & Sat

Lost & Found

  • Good place to go after Backstage if you strikeout there
  • Cheap drinks, darts, pool, and a juke box are sure to keep you entertained
  • Beware: Cougar Crossing
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

